Return of an Archangel

Dust off your [Diablo III] characters guys, the new expansion, Reaper of Souls (RoS), is on its way. The new antagonist is Mathael, lore-junkies and veterans of the franchise may know that name. Mathael is the former Archangel of Wisdom who disappeared following the events of Diablo II: Lord of Destruction. Mathael now leads a faction known as the “Reapers” in attempt to destroy the human race for being part demon; seeing them as the greatest demonic threat now that the Prime Evils have been trapped within the Black Soulstone.

D3 Malthael

That’s the backstory, but what are the new features and why should you try the game, or try it again?

  • The Auction House is gone. Love it or hate it, the Auction House never felt like Diablo and shouldn’t have been in the game to begin with. Getting the best loot now requires you to play the game as intended.
  • The new Loot 2.0 system helps with the removal of the Auction House, item drops are targeted to your class, drops are fewer than the old system, but are better and more likely to be an upgrade. You cannot sell or trade the new legendary or set items. The drops however, are bound to your account and you can leave them in your stash for your other heroes. New itemization focuses on adding passive damage increases on damage types, or skills, which causes builds to be more about what your gear is based around at the time than old cookie cutter builds. Set items bonuses have also been significantly revamped.
  • New level cap of 70, with new skills for all the classes, along with several new passives for each.
  • The Crusader, a Holy Warrior in heavy armor, wielding their shield and flail (a new weapon type introduced) and the sacred powers of light and justice in an effort to eradicate all evil from the mortal realm.

    Diablo 3 Crusader

  • The Paragon 2.0 system, which is a secondary leveling mechanic, once you reach the level cap. When you hit 70 (the new cap up from 60) you begin gaining experience for your paragon level. This level is account-wide and gives you a point to put into paragon skills, which are passive abilities that increase class resource pool regen or size, attack speed, health, and several other stats.
  • New gameplay modes include Nephalem Rifts, which are short randomized dungeons you can clear for loot; and Adventure Mode, which opens the entire map of Diablo III and all its waypoints and gives bounty quests to the player to complete.
  • The old difficulties of Normal, Hell, Nightmare, and Inferno are gone. Replaced by dynamic difficulties of Normal, Hard, Expert, Master, and Torment. All of the tiers are set to character level, but higher tiers of difficulty have passive bonuses to experience and gold gains, and loot quality. These bonuses come at the cost of increased enemy health and damage.
  • New camp follower, the Mystic, who will transmogrify items to keep current stats but change the look to another. She will also allow players to reroll certain stats into another random one, which may or may not be better than the previous stat. This process may be repeated infinitely at the cost of crafting materials and gold to the player.
  • New social features including clans.

Many of these features, several of which were already in the console versions of [Diablo III], lead to a more streamlined game, and cause me to at least recommend updating or reinstalling Diablo III to try some of the features.
Some of these changes and features have already be implemented in a patch in February. Which include the new Difficulties and Paragon and Loot systems. The rest of which will be released with Reaper of Souls which hits shelves on March 25th. As a sidenote, the Auction House will not close down until March 28th.

-Article written by @CapitanoMal

What do you think?